Austin Book Awards

Friday Evening, May 4th

Join us at Austin's Central Library for an evening dedicated to the written word as we honor, celebrate, and support the literary community in Austin. Spend an evening matching wits with visiting authors and honoring the accomplishments of local writers. This event takes place on the eve of the New Fiction Confab and raises money to provide free writing workshops in Austin Public Libraries, as well as scholarships to our Badgerdog Creative Writing Summer Camp. The Austin Book Awards is an expansion of our previous fundraiser and awards dinner, Illumine.

The event's honorees, as well as our visiting New Fiction Confab guest authors, will be announced in March. 

  • Visit with local and national writers
  • Honor local writers and the Forrest Preece Young Author Award winners
  • Gather your team for an exciting game of Literary Death Match

Thank You to Our Generous 2016 Event Sponsors

Alexandra Wettlaufer and Arthur Carpenter
Linda Ball and Forrest Preece
Kristen and Patrick Worrall
Caroline and Brian Haley
Marcy and Jeff Carpenter
Maya and Shaka Smart
Michele and Brad Moore
Marcia Raff
The Don Tate Appreciation Society
Becky Beaver and John Duncan
Caryn Wiseman and the Andrea Brown Literacy Agency

Past Honorees

Fiction: Tim O'Brien
Presented by: Stephen Harrigan
Children's Literature: Don Tate
Presented by: Liz Garton Scanlon
First Book: Amy Gentry
Presented by: Brittani Sonnenberg
Luminary Award: Google and Google Fiber
Presented by: Kristen Worrall
Forrest Preece Young Authors Awards: Nitya Ganesh and Jason Luo
Songwriting: Sara Hickman
Presented by: Michael Blair
Poetry: Dean Young
Presented by: Chris Mink
Luminary Award: Forrest Preece
Presented by: Sarah Bird
Nonfiction: H.W. Brands
Presented by: Stephen Harrigan
Forrest Preece Young Authors Awards: Ava Masterson and Helen Huang
Fiction: James Magnuson
Presented by: Sarah Bird
Nonfiction: Lawrence Wright
Presented by: Stephen Harrigan
Emerging Author: Kelly Luce
Presented by: Callie Collins
Luminary Award: Brad and Michele Moore
Presented by: Dave Hamrick
Forrest Preece Young Authors Awards: Brandee Benson and Jenna Hoover
Fiction: Stephen Harrigan
Presented by: Elizabeth Crook
Non-Fiction: Steven Weinberg
Presented by: Gregory Curtis
Young Adult Literature: Cynthia Leitich Smith
Presented by: Mark Mitchell
Luminary Award: Carmel Borders
Presented by: Jeanne Klein
Fiction: Sarah Bird
Presented by: Michael Adams
Nonfiction: Douglas Brinkley
Presented by: Tom Staley
Children's Literature: Liz Garton Scanlon
Presented by: Lymon Grant
Songwriting: Joe Ely
Presented by: Turk Pipkin
Luminary Award: Darryl Tocker
Presented by: Pat Smith
Fiction: Dagoberto Gilb
Presented by: David Garza
Non-fiction: Gregory Curtis
Presented by: Jake Silverstein
Emerging Author: Carrie Fountain
Presented by: James Magnuson
Songwriting: Jimmie Dale Gilmore
Presented by: Ross Ramsey
Luminary Award: Marc Winkelman
Presented by: Joseph Skibell